In SharePoint all versions User Information List (UIL) in a site collection from SharePoint 2010 and 2013. SharePoint stores user information in the UIL to extract data when this user is being searched by the people picker.
The people picker extracts information from multiple locations:
– The User Information List and
– Active Directory
The people picker does not extract information from the User Profile Service Application (UPSA). The UPSA syncs information from the AD and updates the UIL but it does not delete the user from it. Like if we delete the user from AD it will not delete from UIL
If we delete the user from the Active Directory and navigate back to SharePoint to see what happened.
– we no longer can log on with that user
– we can still find “deleted user name” with the people picker.
– The permissions are still visible for the deleted user in SharePoint site
We need to delete this user from the Site Collection so this user won’t be found by the people picker and the permissions will be deleted for the deleted user from SharePoint site.
Even we can’t just click on the user and delete him because we’ll be redirected to the My Site (the My Site will be scheduled for deletion in 14 days by the My Site Cleanup Timer Job) default time
You will have to add the following right behind the URL, we need to go to Uuser Information List by typing the following URL and need to delete the user from there
we can now choose the user
and click on “Actions –> Delete Users from Site Collection
After deleting the user From UIL we can now
– no longer log on with “Deleted user”
– no longer find him using the people picker
– no longer find his permissions because they have been deleted
Downside is that you’ll receive the following error till next 14 days. While clicking on this user at documents